Connect with us


Teni, Burna Boy, Mr Eazi bag slot in BET awards



Recently, Black Entertainment Television announced the local nominations for 2019’s BET Awards which will hold at the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles on June 23rd. Nigerian musicians Burna Boy, Mr Eazi and Teniola Apata have been nominated for awards in the international categories. Burna Boy and Mr. Eazi have been nominated in the Best International Act Award category. They were pitted against South African Hip Hop rapper AKA. Also included in the category are Dave and Giggs from the UK with Aya Nakamura and Dosseh from France. In the viewer’s choice category of Best New International Act, Teniola Apata from Nigeria was nominated. She was selected alongside Sho Madjodzi from South Africa, Headie One and Octavian from the UK and France’s Jokair and Nesly. It has been revealed that, during the BET Awards, the Best International Act will be honoured in-show along with the viewer’s choice fan voted category Best New International Act during the live red-carpet pre-show.

Best International Act

AKA (South Africa)

Aya Nakamura (France)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)


Dave (Uk)

Dosseh (France)

Giggs (Uk)

Mr. Eazi (Nigeria)

Best New International Act – (Viewers Choice)

Headie One (Uk)

Jokair (France)

Nesly (France)

Octavian (Uk)

Sho Madjodzi (South Africa)

Teniola Apata (Nigeria)

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist


Ella Mai

H.E.R. Solange Sza

Teyana Taylor

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist

Anderson Paak

Bruno Mars

Childish Gambino

Chris Brown

John Legend


Best Group

Chloe X Halle

City Girls

Lil Baby and Gunna


The Carters

Best Collaboration

21 Savage Ft. J. Cole A Lot

Cardi B & Bruno Mars Please Me

Cardi B FT. Bad Bunny & J Balvin I Like it

H.E.R. FT. Bryson Tiller Could’ve been

Travis Scott and Drake Sicko Mode

Tyga ft. Offset Taste

Best Male Hip Hop Artist

21 Savage


J. Cole

Meek Mill

Nipsey Hussle

Travis Scott

Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Cardi B

Kash Doll

Lizzo Megan

Thee Stallion

Nicki Minaj

Remy Ma

Video of the Year

21 Savage A Lot ft. J. Cole

Cardi B. Money

Cardi B & Bruno Mars Please Me

Childish Gambino This is America

Drake Nice for What The Carters Apesh*t

Video Director of the Year

Benny Boon

Colin Tilley

Dave Meyers

Hype Williams

Karena Evans

Best New Artist


City Girls

Juice World

Lil Baby Queen Naija

Dr. Bobby Jones

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Erica Campbell Ft. Warryn

Campbell All Of My Life

Fred Hammond Tell Me Where It Hurts

Kirk Franklin Love Theory

Snoop Dogg Ft. Rance Allen Blessing Me Again

Tori Kelly Ft. Kirk Franklin Never Alone

Best Actress

Issa Rae

Regina Hall

Regina King

Taraji P. Henson

Tiffany Haddish

Viola Davis

Best Actor

Anthony Anderson

Chadwick Boseman

Denzel Washington

Mahershala Ali

Michael B. Jordan

Omari Hardwick

Youngstars Award

Caleb Mclaughlin

Lyric Ross

Marsai Martin

Michael Rainey Jr.

Miles Brown

Best Movie


Creed 2

If Beale Street Could Talk

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse

The Hate U Give

Sportswoman Of The Year

Allyson Felix

Candace Parker

Naomi Osaka

Serena Williams

Simone Biles

Sportsman Of The Year

Kevin Durant

Lebron James

Odell Beckham Jr.

Stephen Curry

Tiger Woods

Album Of The Year


Travis Scott


Meek Mill

Ella Mai Ella Mai

Everything Is Love

The Carters

Invasion Of Privacy

Cardi B 2019

Coca-Cola Viewers’ Choice Award

Cardi B, Bad Bunny & J Balvin I Like It

Childish Gambino This Is America

Drake In My Feelings

Ella Mai Trip

J. Cole Middle Child

Travis Scott Ft. Drake Sicko Mode

Bet Her Award Alicia Keys

Raise A Man Ciara Level Up

H.E.R. Hard Place

Janelle Monáe Pynk Queen

Naija Mama’s HMaij

Teyana Taylor Rose In Harlem

Kindly follow us on Twitter @TRIOTINAIJA

Click to comment

Leave a Reply