Quick facts about Osun guber rerun election

Osun election
Following the Saturday’s inconclusive Osun State governorship election, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced Thursday, September 27 as the new date for a rerun which will take place in seven different polling units across 4 local governments in the state.

The affected Local governments are Ife North, Ife South, Osogbo and Orolu local government area.

With the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polling the highest number of votes among the 48 candidates, he was, however, not declared the winner because the margin of his victory was only 353 votes, and could not earn him victory when weighed against the number of votes cancelled, which amounted to 3,498 votes, INEC said.

The total cancelled votes in seven polling units amount to 3,498, a figure far exceeding the margin with which the PDP candidate defeated his All Progressives Congress opponent, Gboyega Oyetola.

Here are the polling units the rerun will take place

Orolu Local Government, Ward 9, Polling unit 001, 393 registered voters

Polling unit 004, 387 registered voters

A polling unit in Ward 9 in Orolu, 167 registered voters.

Ife North Local Government Area, Ward 15, unit 010, 502 registered voters.

Ife South, Ward 16, two polling units, 812 and 502 registered voters respectively.

Osogbo LG , one unit, 884 registered voters.