Anxiety, As Oyo Students Cry Out Over Closed Institutions

Students under the National Association of Oyo Students (NAOS) have cried out over the continuous closure of the six tertiary institutions owned by the State.

The workers in the six institutions, if recalled, had been on strike since November 3, 2017, due to the failure of the State Government to pay their salaries.

The six concerned institutions are, The Polytechnic, Ibadan; Emmanuel Alayande College of Education, Oyo; Oyo State College of Agriculture and Technology; The Ibarapa Polytechnic, Eruwa; The Oke-Ogun Polytechnic, Saki and College of Education, Lanlate.
The worried students who hail from Oyo have expressed their displeasure to the development and issues surrounding the closure of the institutions and pleaded with the government to save the future of the students in those institutions.
Comrade Saheed Alabi Agboluaje, the President of the NAOS, stated that the  State government need to address the issue urgently as the future of their colleagues in the affected institutions are at stake.
He lamented that a major reason responsible for the strike in the institutions is the fact that the state government was giving 25% subvention and this translates to quarter salary to staff without any other form of motivation for them.
Agboluaje, however, charged the state government to do the needful at the right time, saying that the generality of the students can no longer afford to be at home.

By Writer

For advert enquiries kindly send a mail to

Leave a Reply